The Beatrice Van Ness Society recognizes all those who have made a bequest provision, a life income gift, or other planned gift commitment to Beaver Country Day School.

A renowned painter in the school of American Impressionism, Beatrice Whitney Van Ness (1888-1981) led the art department at Beaver from 1921 to 1949 and was a pioneer in the emerging field of art education. Her life’s work as a practicing artist and as an innovative teacher is reflected today in Beaver’s commitment to the arts as a vital part of a balanced curriculum. Members of the Beatrice Van Ness Society help the school uphold these core values through their thoughtful and generous commitments to Beaver’s future.

Beatrice Van Ness Society Members

Anonymous (1)

Selma Jones Wheaton ’25
Natalie Waldo Koehler ’27
Elizabeth Willett Musser ’28
Maria Whitten Pomeroy ’27
Anne Allen Conklin ’30
John Wolbach ’30
Rosamond Hamlin Thomas ’36
Nan Garland Bowen ’37
Ellen Chafee Tillinghast ’37
Edith Moir Kiley ’38  P’63, ’64, ’70
Deborah Law Redpath ’40
Nancy Moore ’41
John and Katharine Sawtell Plimpton ’41 P’69
Katharine Driscoll Withington ’43
Colby and Emmy Richardson Hewitt ’44  P’71
Janet Bird Burns ’45
Patricia Hurley Goodrich ’49
Carol McConville Dwyer ’54 P’86, ’84, ’82, ’80,
Judith Parks Anderson ’57
Nancy Sargent Howell ’58  P’81
Carolyn White Spengler ’58
Ruth Isabella Gardner Lamere ’59
Rosamond Wright Reiber ’61
Nancy Whittemore ’64
Muriel Loring ’65
Jacqueline Hall Fesler ’67
John Weltman ’75
Paul Merton ’97
Rosamond Lovering
Eugene Randolph Smith
Camilla Titcomb
Edward and Margo Wallack P’07, ’05